My HIV test experience

First i want to apologize for not posting yesterday as i had promised,but i did get to have my HIV status checked.To be honest,that test put the fear of God in me.I was so nervous to go alone so i requested my roommate to do it with me. Immediately  we were both done with our classes we set off to the schools’ VCT center(was free BTW)and at the time i was breaking out a cold sweat ,my head over thinking about the situation.

keep-calm-get-tested-know-your-status-2

On getting there the counselor began the sessionwith the mandatory pre-test counselling.The purpose of pre-test HIV counselling is to find out why you want to be tested, the nature and extent of your previous and present high-risk behavior, and the steps that need to be taken to prevent you from becoming infected or from transmitting HIV infection.He asked quite a number of questions which i obviously answered such as;

  1. why i want to get tested?(To determine my status before getting into a new relationship)
  2. whether i had taken the test some time before?(no)
  3. whether i think  i have in anyway exposed myself to the virus?(yes.a non-sterile piercing)
  4. my beliefs on HIV and safe sex.(one should use condoms or something like that)
  5. what i would do if found negative?(take better care of myself)
  6. what i would do if found positive?(i didn’t answer to this question,i just let out a sigh)

He then explained more about how the test works and the expected results.

Image result for positive HIV test strip and negative

The test

Oh my god!Worst  15 minutes of my life.The nurse got the HIV test apparatus,it looked like a pregnancy test i thought to myself,and oh,it’s just a small prick on the finger nothing too messy.My roommate went first because i was really nervous and looked like a cat on a hot rock.Eventually it was my turn and i reluctantly stretched out my finger for the tiny injection and in a blink ,blood was oozing and being collected.He finally got the test ready and we were now waiting for the results.

Image result for how hiv test is done

Honestly i did not hear a word the man was saying at the time,i was so busy thinking about what i would do next if the test result came out positive and how i would stay a virgin till marriage if it came out negative.

After my internal nervous breakdown “patiently” awaiting my results, the time finally came – so far it had felt like the longest ten minutes of my life.The nurse then mentioned that we were the ones to look at our own results so i stretched out my hand to him to pass me the strip as i was calling out all God given names in all languages i know.

Screenshot_2017-06-01-17-39-59

Seeing the test results were negative i quickly called my mum and let her know,i also took a picture for you guys and for my boyfriend.I was relieved to see that i was not infected and very happy actually.

The counselor/nurse then recommended that we go for regular test after every 6 months just to be safe.

I would definitely urge people to go get tested: there’s a sense of relief in knowing your status, whatever it may be. Armed with knowledge, you are then in a position to take the next step in caring for your health and others’.

12 thoughts on “My HIV test experience

Leave a Reply

